Products

 

LockDown Browser Update:
How students are locked into an exam

 

Details for Instructors

A change has been made to how LockDown Browser locks students into an exam. Students were previously locked into an exam until they submitted it for grading. This will now be an optional exam setting for LockDown Browser, with the default set to "off". The new default setting will require students to submit a reason for exiting the exam early, which can then be viewed by the instructor. Here is how it works.

Go to the LockDown Browser Dashboard and select "Modify Settings" for the exam.

A new option appears within the Advanced Settings section: "Lock students into the browser until exam is completed". The default state is deselected, which will enable a student to exit the browser if a problem or emergency arises (e.g. Internet connection failure).

If this option is left deselected, and if a student attempts to exit the browser during an exam, they will encounter the following prompt.

If the student selects "Close the Browser", the student is then required to enter a reason for exiting the exam early.

The date/time the student exited the exam, as well as the reason provided by the student, is reported to the instructor from the LockDown Browser Dashboard. The numeric indicator on the context menu shows new instances of a student exiting the exam early.

From the context menu, select "Review Early Exits" to see the details

The instructor can then see when the student exited the exam and the reason provided by the student for exiting early.

If the instructor is using Respondus Monitor (the webcam component for LockDown Browser), the warning will instead appear in the "Automated Notes/Warnings" section.

Additional Notes:

  • The new exit capability is only available in LockDown Browser 1.0.6 or higher. If a student is running an older version of the browser, they will be locked into the exam, regardless of the instructor's setting for the exam.
  • If a student exits an exam early, and if only one attempt is permitted for the exam, it will be necessary to reset the exam for the student.